Federal Authentication Service (FAS)


Via the Federal Authentication Service (FAS) individuals are authenticated so that they can access secure online government applications.


  • Three different security levels depending on the sensitivity of the information:
    • user name and password
    • user name, password and token
    • electronic identity card with associated PIN code
  • Authentication when connecting to an application
  • Support with the implementation of the service
  • Support while the service is being used

Attribute Publication Service

  • Collecting a user´s attributes from one or more reliable sources that are located in other government institutions (i.e., National Register, Crossroads Bank for Social Security and Crossroads Bank for Enterprises)
  • Sending of the requested attributes to the requesting government application within the framework of a successful authentication


All public services and institutions that want a secure authentication process for their applications:

  • Federal public services and institutions
  • Communities and Regions
  • Provinces, municipalities and OCMWs/CPASs (local public social welfare centres)
  • Businesses or persons implementing government contracts


  • Application with the DG Digital Transformation Service Desk
  • Signing up to a user agreement

Access and support

  • Accessible 24/7
  • Support for public services and institutions from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm from Monday to Friday (on federal government working days)
  • Support for end users from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm from Monday to Friday (on federal government working days), and from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays

For further information or to use the service, please contact the DG Digital Transformation Service Desk at servicedesk.DTO@bosa.fgov.be specifying reference code ´S001 - FAS´.